About CPA2020

As shared with the membership on March 23, 2020, the CPA Board of Directors took the decision to cancel our in-person 81st CPA Annual National Convention in Montreal, QC, scheduled for May 28-30, 2020. This decision was taken in response to COVID-19 and the federal and provincial government decisions taken to prohibit large gatherings of people in the service of community safety.

Since taking this decision, the CPA’s Convention staff, Committee and Board of Directors have explored, as quickly as possible, all options to mount a virtual event, and are pleased to announce that we will be moving our annual in-person convention to a virtual one over the months of July and August.

Individuals who were accepted to deliver a presentation, of any type, at the CPA’s 2020 in-person convention are encouraged to participate in the virtual event to showcase their work – material must be submitted to the CPA by June 12th. Information on uploading, file-naming procedures, and recording instructions will be provided at a later date.

  • Posters can be submitted as a PDF or as a PDF slide deck
  • Gimme 5s must be submitted as a 5-minute voice-over recording of 3 PPT slides
  • All other spoken presentations (i.e., 12-minute talk, 25-minute conversation session/discussion forum, 25-minute review session, 55-minute symposium) must be pre-recorded.
    • Convention staff will follow up with presenters to discuss their availability to participate in a live chat on a date to be determined and/or to monitor posted questions by viewers
  • For accepted symposia, at least two of the presenters of the accepted symposium must agree to participate in the virtual event

Live chats, group discussions, and delegate to delegate messaging/chat will be available via the virtual platform.

Individuals must present their material in the format in which it was accepted; changes to presentation type will not be permitted.

Convention Committee


Lisa Votta-Bleeker (Deputy CEO)


Ian Nicholson (Board Liaison)
Frederick Grouzet
Kristin Reynolds
Michelle Guzman-Ratko
Georden Jones
Alisia Palermo
Rob Cribbie
Nicole Sugden
Jérémie Richard
Carly Marshall
Laurie Ford (ex-officio: Board Liaison for Sections)

Staff (Observers)
Kathy Lachapelle-Pétrin (Convention Program Manager)
Kathryn McLaren (Membership, Events & Association Development)
Cara Bernard (Manager, Section Administration)
Yussra Soultan (Membership Data & Service Coordinator)
David Mercer (Education and Professional Development Advisor)

Contact the Committee